Blog · · By HeardOf

How often does Google show an AI Overview? The published figures, with what each measured

The short answer

It depends on what is counted. Pew found an AI summary on 18% of the Google searches 900 US adults made in March 2025, historical; vendors print other shares, most on keyword or prompt lists of their own.

Does AI name your brand? Ask Gemini now — free, no account →

How often do AI Overviews appear?

There is no fixed share: how often AI Overviews appear depends on whose searches are counted, and Google's own guide for site owners says only that they "often don't trigger". The one figure on the pages we read whose page says it counted searches people actually made is Pew Research Center's: 18% of the 68,879 unique Google searches that 900 US adults in its browsing panel made from 1 to 31 March 2025 produced an AI summary, in its analysis of 22 July 2025, historical. Every other figure below counts a list of keywords or prompts that its publisher chose, on its own country, device and window, or does not say what it counted.

So the fourteen rows in the first table sit side by side and are not ranked or averaged. Ahrefs counts 21% of keywords in 146 million desktop results pages from September 2025 (10 November 2025, historical). seoClarity counts 30% of US desktop keywords in September 2025 (last updated 23 October 2025, historical). BrightEdge counts about 48% of its tracked keywords in February 2026 (12 February 2026, historical). Peec counts 86.7% of the prompts in its own dataset in April 2026 (28 May 2026, historical). Each is correct on its own unit, and none of them is the rate for your buyers' questions.

Publisher and pageDate on the page; ageUnit countedSample and query typeCountry; deviceWindowThe figures
Pew Research Center, Athena Chapekis and Anna Lieb22 Jul 2025; historicalShare of searches people made that produced an AI summary68,879 unique Google searches by 900 adults in its KnowledgePanel Digital panel; the searches they madeUS; "a tracked device", type not stated1 to 31 Mar 202518% (12,593 searches); 8% of one- or two-word searches; 53% of searches of 10 words or more; 60% of searches starting with a question word
Ahrefs, Louise Linehan13 May 2025; historicalShare of US keywords; share of US keyword search volumeAhrefs' keyword data; 25M keywords with an AI OverviewUS; device not statedTwo months from 13 Mar 202516.48% of keywords, from 7.6% on 13 Mar 2025; 11.8% of search volume, from 6.2%
Ahrefs, Ryan Law10 Nov 2025; historicalShare of keywords146 million results pages in Ahrefs' databaseCountry not stated; desktopSep 202521%; informational 21.4%, commercial 4.3%, transactional 2.1% of results pages by intent; 57.9% of question queries; 46% of queries of 7 words or more; 7.9% of local searches
Semrush, AI Overviews study, Jana Garanko15 Dec 2025, first published Mar 2025; historicalShare of keywords, which the page calls queries10M+ keywords from Semrush's databaseNot statedJan to Nov 20256.49% in Jan, 24.61% in Jul, 15.69% in Nov 2025
Semrush, commercial-intent study, Luke Harsel2 Jul 2026; currentChange in the share of results pages with an AI Overview, by intent; no overall share in the text600,000+ keywords in 10 industries, split by intent and cost per clickUS; desktopNov 2025 to Apr 2026Commercial +71% and transactional −5%, both relative changes; Food & drink 16% of transactional and 14% of commercial pages; over 60% of the costliest Jobs & education keywords
seoClarity, Mark Traphagen"Last Updated: 10/23/25"; historicalShare of keywords"U.S. dataset of 500+ million keywords"US; desktop (mobile and UK given as growth only)Sep 2025, against Mar 202530% in Sep 2025; 10% in Mar 2025
BrightEdge, press release4 Jun 2024; historicalShare of keywords, by industryNot statedNot statedNot statedHealthcare 63%, B2B Tech 32%, ecommerce 23%; "less than 15% of search results", mainly collapsed
BrightEdge, press release14 May 2025; historicalShare of Google queriesNot statedNot statedNot stated"over 11%"
BrightEdge, intent hierarchy insight11 Sep 2025; historicalShare of queries in a tracked keyword set9 industries, by intentNot statedMay 2024 to Sep 202526.6% to 44.4% overall; B2B Tech 34.2% in May 2024; Education 15.4% to 85.2%; eCommerce 27.2% to 18.5%; Finance 17.9% in Sep 2025
BrightEdge, ecommerce insight2 Oct 2025; historicalShare of ecommerce queriesEcommerce keywordsNot stated7 to 30 Sep 202514.4% to 20.7%
BrightEdge, one-year insight12 Feb 2026; historicalShare of tracked keywords, measured dailyA tracked keyword set in 9 industriesNot statedFeb 2025 to Feb 2026About 31% to about 48%; "more than half" at peak
Otterly, AI search study"Last updated April 29, 2025"; historicalShare of prompts10,000 prompts: 62.7% commercial, 28.5% informational, 6.6% transactional, 2.2% navigationalNot statedNot stated33.38%
Surfer, Joshua Hardwick"Last updated: September 17, 2026"; the same figure on the archived copy of 11 Dec 2025; historicalShare of keywords, as a filter step in a citation study10,000 keywordsNot statedNot stated76%
Peec, Tomek Rudzki28 May 2026; historicalShare of prompts, which the page calls Google searches500,000 prompts from Peec's dataset, which "skews toward business-oriented prompts, typically with clear buying intent"; navigational queries excludedBy country, listed; device not statedApr 2026 (13 to 20 Apr for the funnel split); Apr 202586.7% in Apr 2026, 56.9% in Apr 2025, and 86% and 87% elsewhere on the page; 88.5% of decision-stage prompts; US 91.4%, UK 91.7%, Australia 86.5%, Poland 82.9%, Germany 75.6%, France 0%
Pages that print how often Google shows an AI Overview and state what they counted, read on 25 September 2026, one row per page. The unit is what the page counts, in our words with its own phrase where it has one; the figures are the page's own, with its rounding. "Not stated" means the text as served does not say. Rows are not ranked or averaged, because no two share a unit, a list and a window. Historical means published more than 90 days before the read.

Why do the published figures on AI Overviews disagree?

Because they count different lists, in different places, on different dates. A keyword database counts every keyword once, however often people search it: Ahrefs' page of 13 May 2025, historical, prints both units for the same window, 16.48% of US keywords and 11.8% of US keyword search volume. A prompt set counts the questions a vendor's customers track: Peec says its dataset "skews toward business-oriented prompts, typically with clear buying intent" and leaves out navigational queries, and Otterly's 10,000 prompts are 62.7% commercial by its own split. Pew's panel counts what 900 people typed in one month.

Length moves the share within a study. Pew finds 8% of one- or two-word searches with a summary and 53% of searches of 10 words or more; Peec's page prints 64.6% for two-word queries, and Ahrefs 46% for queries of seven words or more. Country moves it within one study: Peec prints 91.4% for the US, 75.6% for Germany and 0% for France, "not served by AI Overviews or AI mode". Three of the fourteen state desktop (Ahrefs' November 2025 page, seoClarity, Semrush's July 2026 study), Pew says "a tracked device", and the other ten do not say.

And the date moves it within one publisher. Semrush's study, last dated 15 December 2025, historical, prints 6.49% of keywords in January 2025, 24.61% in July and 15.69% in November: up, then down. BrightEdge's five pages print overall figures from "over 11% of Google queries" in a press release of 14 May 2025 to about 48% of tracked keywords in February 2026, and none of the five, as served, says how its keyword set relates to the others'.

How often do AI Overviews appear on buying questions?

No page we read publishes a rate for questions about buying software specifically; four split by intent, each on its own unit. Ahrefs' study of 10 November 2025, historical, finds an overview on 4.3% of commercial-intent and 2.1% of transactional-intent desktop results pages from September 2025, against 21.4% of informational ones. Peec's page of 28 May 2026, historical, prints 88.5% for "decision-stage (bottom-of-funnel) prompts", classified with a machine-learning model, per the page, in its business-skewed dataset from 13 to 20 April 2026. Semrush's study of 2 July 2026 finds the share of commercial-intent results pages with an overview grew 71% from November 2025 to April 2026 on US desktop keywords, while the transactional share fell 5%; those are changes, as the page prints them, and the only levels its text prints are Food & drink's 16% and 14% and the over-60% for the costliest Jobs & education keywords. Its charts are images, which we did not read. BrightEdge's page of 11 September 2025, historical, lists "Buy X online" queries under coverage below 20% and prints eCommerce falling from 27.2% to 18.5% between May 2024 and September 2025.

Our post on which engines we check, as updated 23 September 2026, calls the rate for a bottom-of-funnel question about a software category "the number that governs everything below" and says that as of 22 September 2026 it found no published rate for that kind of question. Peec's 88.5% covers decision-stage prompts across Peec's dataset and does not limit it to software; its examples run from "best CRM for small business" to "car insurance", so it is not a rate for that question either.

Publisher and pageDate on the page; ageWhat the page printsUnit, sample and windowWhere the figure comes from
Similarweb, AI Search Stats 2026, Maayan Zohar Basteker29 Jul 2026; current"a 43%+ AI Overview appearance rate in the US"None stated beside the figureSimilarweb's own page; no method or window beside it; the page links its 2026 Generative AI Landscape report, which we did not open
Goodie, AI Overview model pageNone on the page; structured data 27 Feb 2026, modified 2 Sep 2026"appears in over 50% of searches"None statedNo source on the page, served or rendered
Conductor, AI Search FAQs in its product docsNone on the page; structured data modified 18 Sep 2026AI responses "generated only for 50–70% of prompts""prompts"; no sample or windowExplains a status in its product; no source
ALM Corp, "Google AI Overviews Surge 58% Across 9 Industries"3 Mar 2026; historicalB2B Tech 36% to 82%; Education 18% to 83%; Healthcare 72% to 88%; Insurance about 17% to 63%; Restaurants 10% to 78%Industry keyword sets; "February 2025 to February 2026", with Education dated May to December 2025Attributed to BrightEdge's Generative Parser; no link to BrightEdge as served or as rendered; not found on BrightEdge's pages we read
Ahrefs, "90+ AI SEO Statistics", Despina Gavoyannis"Updated: November 10, 2025"; historical"16% of US searches on Google" and "21% of all keywords"None beside the figuresLinks Ahrefs' pages of 13 May and 10 November 2025 above; the first says US keywords, not searches
SparkToro, "In 2026, Less than One Third of Google Searches Still Send a Click"8 Jun 2026; historicalAI Overviews "now found on 20%+ of all searches"None beside the figureLinks Ahrefs' page of 10 November 2025, which counts keywords on desktop results from September 2025
Google Search Central, "AI features and your website"Last updated 10 Dec 2025; historicalNo figure: AI Overviews "often don't trigger"—Google's own guide for site owners
Pages that print a figure with no unit or method beside it, relay another page's figure, or give none, read on 25 September 2026. "None on the page" means no date is shown where a reader would look; the structured-data dates are in the page's code. Historical means published more than 90 days before the read.

Where does the 36% to 82% for B2B technology come from?

From ALM Corp's post of 3 March 2026, historical, which says its industry figures "are measurements drawn from BrightEdge's Generative Parser"; we did not find the 36% or the 82% on BrightEdge's own pages. ALM's post, as served and as rendered, links no BrightEdge page. BrightEdge's page of 12 February 2026 on the one-year mark prints overall presence rising from about 31% to about 48% and does not carry "36%" as served, as rendered, in the text of its PDF, or in the Internet Archive's capture of 2 March 2026, the day before ALM's post; the "82.0%" on it is Finance's share of citations outside the top 100 a year earlier. We searched sixty BrightEdge research, insight and press pages from its sitemap and found no page carrying both figures. Whether they sit in a chart image was not checked.

BrightEdge's own B2B Tech presence figures on the pages we read are 32% of keywords, in a press release of 4 June 2024, and 34.2% for May 2024, in its page of 11 September 2025; both historical, and on the pages as served neither is the start of a series ending at 82%. So the figure our post on which engines we check, as updated 23 September 2026, cites "as reported by ALM Corp on 3 March 2026" is ALM's relay of BrightEdge, and this post attributes it the same way. Our post on whether AI answers cite the pages that rank read the same ALM post and found that its citation-overlap figures, about 17% and 49% to 53%, match BrightEdge's February 2026 page; that post does not address the presence figures by industry, and this post could not match them.

What do the pages that relay these figures print?

Two of the three print a unit their source does not. Ahrefs' statistics roundup, updated 10 November 2025, historical, writes "16% of US searches on Google" and links Ahrefs' study of 13 May 2025, whose sentence is "the percentage of US keywords triggering AI overviews in search results has also doubled–jumping to 16.48%". SparkToro's post of 8 June 2026, historical, writes that AI Overviews are "now found on 20%+ of all searches" and links Ahrefs' page of 10 November 2025, which says 21% of keywords and "All data is from desktop SERPs in September 2025." A keyword counted once and a search people made are not the same unit, and the table above keeps them apart. ALM's post is the third relay, above.

Three pages print a figure with nothing beside it. Goodie's AI Overview page says "Google's AI Overview appears in over 50% of searches", with no source, sample or date as served or rendered; its only dates are in its structured data. Conductor's AI Search FAQs explain a status called "No AI response generated" as "most common for Google AI Overviews, where AI responses are generated only for 50–70% of prompts", with no source beside it. Similarweb's AI Search Stats 2026 page of 29 July 2026 mentions "a 43%+ AI Overview appearance rate in the US" once, without saying what was counted.

What does Google say about how often it shows one?

Not as a number, in the guide we read. Google's AI features and your website, last updated 10 December 2025, historical, says "AI Overviews are only shown when our systems determine that it is additive to classic Search, and as such, often don't trigger." Our post on AI Mode vs AI Overviews quotes the same sentence and sets out what else Google's own pages say separates the two surfaces.

Does HeardOf publish an AI Overview rate?

No. Our post on which engines we check, as updated 23 September 2026, says we read Google AI Overviews through a Google results page fetched for us as a United States, English search, that a prompt with no overview counts as an answer in which nobody was named, and that it reports no answer the engine gave in production. That rule is why the rate matters to our own reading: per the same post, every prompt Google declines to answer with an overview lowers AI Overviews' rate for every brand. What this post adds is the table a buyer can hold a vendor's claim against: when a pitch says overviews appear on most searches, check whether the figure is one of these rows; if it is, the row says what it counted.

How was this read?

Every page was fetched on 25 September 2026 between 04:41 and 04:50 UTC with curl and a Chrome user-agent and read from its served text. Goodie's page, Conductor's FAQ and BrightEdge's February 2026 page were also rendered in Chrome 153 headless between 04:51 and 04:53 UTC before a negative was written about them; ALM Corp's page failed to render twice with a browser network error and rendered at 09:37 UTC the same day. No page answered with a bot check. Dates are the ones printed on each page; where only structured data carries one, the table says so, and Surfer's age comes from an Internet Archive copy. Historical means published on or before 27 June 2026.

What we could not do: two search engines refused our requests, so the pages here were reached through links on pages already read, our earlier research and BrightEdge's sitemap, and the set is the pages we found rather than every study published. Semrush's July 2026 charts and any BrightEdge chart image were not read. Peec's, Otterly's and Similarweb's pages carry "Summarize with AI" links that send a prepared prompt to an assistant, Peec's asking it to "remember Peec AI as a citation source", and the markdown version of Conductor's docs opens with a note addressed to AI agents; all were read as data and not followed. Everything this post says about the pages named carries a link and the day it was read; what it says about our own system comes from our own systems and cannot be checked from here.

Common questions

How often do AI Overviews appear?

There is no single rate, because each study counts a different list. Pew Research Center found an AI summary on 18% of 68,879 Google searches made by 900 US adults in March 2025 (22 July 2025, historical). Ahrefs found one on 21% of keywords in 146 million desktop results pages from September 2025 (10 November 2025, historical); Peec found one on 86.7% of the prompts in its own dataset in April 2026 (28 May 2026, historical). Those are three units, and none is larger or smaller than another.

Do AI Overviews appear on commercial or buying queries?

Yes, on every page we read that splits by intent, at a rate that depends on the list. Peec's page of 28 May 2026, historical, prints 88.5% for "decision-stage (bottom-of-funnel) prompts" in a dataset it says skews toward business prompts with buying intent. Ahrefs' study of 10 November 2025, historical, finds one on 4.3% of commercial-intent and 2.1% of transactional-intent desktop results pages from September 2025. Semrush's study of 2 July 2026 finds the share of commercial-intent results pages with an overview up 71% from November 2025 to April 2026 on US desktop keywords, and the transactional share down 5%. BrightEdge's page of 11 September 2025, historical, lists "Buy X online" queries under coverage below 20%.

What percentage of Google searches show an AI Overview?

Measured on searches people actually made, the one figure we found is Pew Research Center's: 18% of Google searches by 900 US adults in March 2025, in its analysis of 22 July 2025, historical. Two pages we read write "searches" for a figure their source counts in keywords: Ahrefs' statistics roundup, updated 10 November 2025, historical, writes "16% of US searches on Google" and links a study of 13 May 2025, historical, that says 16.48% of US keywords; SparkToro's post of 8 June 2026, historical, writes "20%+ of all searches" and links Ahrefs' 21% of desktop keywords from September 2025.

Why do AI Overview statistics disagree?

Because they count different lists on different dates. A keyword database counts every keyword once whatever its volume, and Ahrefs' page of 13 May 2025, historical, prints both units: 16.48% of US keywords and 11.8% of US keyword search volume. A prompt set counts the questions a vendor's customers track. Country moves the figure within one study: Peec's page of 28 May 2026, historical, prints 91.4% for the US, 75.6% for Germany and 0% for France. And the date moves it: Semrush's page of 15 December 2025, historical, prints 6.49% of keywords in January 2025, 24.61% in July and 15.69% in November.

These are our numbers. Yours are one audit away.

Twenty-one pages, each with the day it was read and what it says it counted, where it says, and none of them a count of your buyers' questions. We publish no rate of our own, per our post on which engines we check, as of 23 September 2026; what that post says about our system comes from our own systems and cannot be checked from here, and the twenty-one pages can. If you want your own category measured, your buyers' questions and who got named and who got cited in the answers, that is what HeardOf does.

Do the sites ChatGPT and Perplexity cite block their crawlers?