Blog · · By HeardOf

AI visibility tools: what nineteen of them say about how they get their answers

The short answer

Of nineteen AI visibility tools read on 24 September 2026, thirteen say how they collect answers, six name a model version, one states a rule for a missing AI Overview, and none says how a failed fetch is counted.

Does AI name your brand? Ask Gemini now — free, no account →

How do AI visibility tools collect their answers?

Thirteen of nineteen say, on their own pages as read on 24 September 2026, how they collect their data: eight through the chat interface, four through both an API and the interface, and one through an API. Six say nothing on the pages we read.

The nineteen are the set we track, and their prices are in what nineteen AI-visibility tools charge; this post is the method column. Seven questions were put to each vendor's own docs, help centre, knowledge base, API reference, status page, changelog and product pages; they are the columns of the two tables below. A negative means not stated on the pages we read, which are listed by URL, time and status in the research file behind this post; the rule for what counts as a statement is at the end. What each vendor's pages say the product shows you — the answer text, the brands you did not add, the URLs each answer cited — is in can you see the answer, and who got named instead, read the same day.

The interface camp is the larger one. Profound: "Other tools pull AI responses from the API. We capture directly from the browser." Peec: "Peec AI uses UI scraping technology to interact with AI platforms exactly as real users do", and, for most engines, "the platform decides which model to use and whether it runs a web search." Otterly, in a help article dated 17 July 2026: "posting questions and prompts through the website of the AI search (like chatgpt.com etc)", with a footnote that Claude alone is read through an API. Semrush: "Prompt responses are captured from real requests and not via any APIs of LLMs." Ahrefs' help centre: it "enters those questions into the web version of each AI chatbot using the default model", Claude excepted, and its methodology post says the same. Writesonic, Surfer and SE Ranking use the word scrape or the phrase graphical user interface.

Four say they use both an API and the interface, and two of them say which engine gets which. Rankscale's pricing calculator labels "GUI engines AI Overview GUI, Grok GUI, Copilot GUI" against "API engines P Sonar, P Sonar-Pro, P Sonar-R-Pro, GPT-5, Gemini 3.0F, Gemini 3.1P, Mistral Large". Athena's API changelog, in an entry under August 2026, says Meta AI "is reached through Meta's Model API rather than scraped from a country-local session" and that the same is true of Claude and DeepSeek, which puts its other engines on the scraped side. Evertune tracks "through the model's API and its consumer app", both routes on every model. Scrunch lists "browser automation and official platform APIs" without saying which engine gets which. One says API: Conductor's docs say "We use official APIs provided by the AI search engines we support to get the content from responses", and its product page calls that "an official API-first approach for data collection wherever possible".

Tool, pages read 24 Sep 2026How it says it collects answersModel version namedRuns per prompt per day
Profound — product page, help centre, docs, status pageInterface: "We capture directly from the browser" (features page)NoOnce, in so many words: "Prompts run once a day per model and region" (docs)
Peec AI — home, pricing, docs, changelog, ai-instructions pageInterface, "UI scraping" (docs); paid add-on models through APIsYes: Gemini 3 Flash, Qwen 3.7 (changelog); Claude Sonnet 4, GPT-5 Search (ai-instructions), for API modelsOnce, in so many words: "once every 24 hours on every AI model you've selected" (home FAQ)
Otterly — home, features, pricing, help centre, docsInterface: "through the website of the AI search" (help, 17 Jul 2026); Claude by APINoAmounts to once: "every day", "the same daily cadence" (help, 5 Aug 2026); "each execution of a day/prompt/service counts as 1/0" (help, 4 Sep 2026)
Scrunch — home, pricing, FAQ and how-to pagesBoth: "browser automation and official platform APIs" (FAQ); which engine gets which is not saidNoSchedule: daily for 14 days, then every 72 hours by default (FAQ)
Athena HQ — home, plans, docs, API reference and changelogBoth, per engine: Meta AI, Claude and DeepSeek through the provider's API "rather than scraped from a country-local session", which implies the others are scraped (API changelog, Aug 2026)NoSchedule: weekly or monthly, user-set (docs)
Rankscale — home, pricing, features, changelogBoth, labelled per engine: "GUI engines" and "API engines" (pricing)Yes: GPT-5, Gemini 3.0F, Gemini 3.1P, Mistral Large (pricing); Claude Haiku 4.5, Gemini 3 Flash, Gemini 3.1 Pro (changelog)Schedule: "hourly, daily, weekly, or monthly", user-set (pricing)
Evertune — home, methodology, FAQ, help centreBoth, on every model: "through the model's API and its consumer app" (help, 13 May 2026)Yes: ChatGPT-5.4-mini, Gemini 2.5, Claude Sonnet 4.6, Llama 4, DeepSeek v3.2 (help, 13 May 2026)100 per prompt per model; how often is not stated
Goodie — home, pricing, features, methodology, model pagesNot stated on pages read; the ChatGPT page's "publicly accessible ChatGPT interfaces" answers a question about enterprise deploymentsYes: GPT-5, GPT-4o, GPT-4 Turbo, o1 (ChatGPT page); Claude 3.5 Sonnet, Gemini 2.0 and others on the other model pagesDaily, count not stated (features page, model pages)
Bluefish — home, platform, solutions, blogNot stated on pages readNoNot stated
AmICited — home, features, pricing, FAQ, academy, how-to pagesNot stated: "from clean sessions" (home FAQ)NoAmounts to once: "One prompt run on one engine, once … 8 engines = 8 AI responses per day" (pricing)
Semrush — knowledge base (fourteen articles), solutions, features, pricing, Semrush One pageInterface: "captured from real requests and not via any APIs of LLMs" (kb/1607)No: "the latest model of ChatGPT in search mode" (kb/1607)Daily, count not stated (kb/1503)
Ahrefs Brand Radar — product page, help centre, methodology postInterface: "the web version of each AI chatbot" (help); Claude by APIYes, for Claude: Claude Sonnet 4.6 (help); "the default model" for the restSchedule: daily, weekly or monthly, 1 check per update (product page, help)
HubSpot — Grader, AEO product page, guide, SensorNot stated on pages readYes: GPT-5.4 mini (Grader page)Daily, count not stated (AEO guide); "week over week" on the Grader page; the Grader is one-time
Writesonic — home, tracker page, docs (45 docs pages answered 429)Interface: "We scrape the actual web interfaces of AI platforms" (docs)NoDaily, count not stated: "Every prompt, every day" (tracker page)
Surfer — home, AI Tracker page, pricing, docs, help centre (seven AI Tracker articles), updatesInterface: "We scrape the real-world interfaces your customers actually see" (AI Tracker page)No: "force you to pick a model to track. Surfer doesn't."Multiple, count not stated: "we run multiple queries per day per model"
SE Ranking / SE Visible — tracker page, SE Visible site, FAQInterface: "direct UI-based monitoring" (tracker page); "a browser and graphical user interface" (SE Visible)NoAmounts to once: "all 200 prompts in all 5 LLMs every day" (SE Visible)
Similarweb — packages page, aisearch pagesNot stated on pages readNoDaily, count not stated: "refreshed and recorded every day" (prompt-analysis page)
Conductor — home, platform pages, docs, FAQ, academyAPI: "We use official APIs provided by the AI search engines we support" (docs FAQ)No: "Claude Sonnet", "ChatGPT (Auto)", "ChatGPT (Search)" (docs)Schedule: daily, weekly or monthly per topic, user-set (docs FAQ)
BrightEdge — home, products, AI Catalyst, insightsNot stated on pages readNoNot stated for the product
HeardOf — [our post on which engines we check](/blog/which-ai-engines-we-check), as updated 23 Sep 2026APIs for ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini; a Google results page fetched by SerpAPI for AI OverviewsYes: gpt-5.6-luna, sonar, gemini-2.5-flash (as of 19 Sep 2026)Once per engine per prompt per UTC day
Questions (a) to (c), each vendor's own pages as served to a script on 24 September 2026, quoted where a quote exists. "Not stated" is scoped to the pages read, listed in the research file. A help-centre date in brackets is the date printed on the article. The HeardOf row is from our own post and cannot be checked by a reader.

Which tools name the model they query?

Six of nineteen name a version string somewhere on their own pages; thirteen do not. Naming one is not the same as naming all: Ahrefs names Claude Sonnet 4.6 and calls everything else "the default model", and Peec names versions only for the paid API models, since for the scraped engines "the platform decides which model to use".

Two are not counted, for stated reasons. Semrush says its toolkit "analyzes responses generated by the latest model of ChatGPT in search mode", a mode and a product but not a version; Surfer says it does not pick a model at all, on the grounds that its customers do not either. Neither is a version string, which is the thing that tells a buyer which model produced last Tuesday's number.

How many times a day does each tool ask a prompt?

Two say once a day in so many words, Profound and Peec. Three use wording or an example that amounts to one run per prompt per engine per day: Otterly, whose KPI definitions count "each execution of a day/prompt/service" as one; AmICited, whose pricing page counts "one prompt run on one engine, once"; and SE Visible, which "checks all 200 prompts in all 5 LLMs every day". Five give a schedule: Scrunch's default (daily for fourteen days, then every 72 hours, refreshable on demand), and customer-chosen schedules at Rankscale, Ahrefs, Athena and Conductor — Rankscale from hourly to monthly, Ahrefs daily, weekly or monthly, Athena weekly or monthly, Conductor daily, weekly or monthly per topic. Evertune gives a sample count with no cadence: "Evertune samples every prompt 100 times per model", set against "most GEO tools" that "sample each prompt once a day", and that comparison is the only place cadence appears on the pages we read. Surfer says "multiple queries per day per model, then average the results" and gives no number. Five say daily with no count — Goodie, Semrush, HubSpot, Writesonic and Similarweb — and two say nothing on the pages we read, Bluefish and BrightEdge.

Why the number matters is in our post on which engines we check, as updated 23 September 2026, which cites a published study by Schulte, Bleeker and Kaufmann (arXiv, 8 April 2026) putting the standard error of a single run at 0.370 and recommending at least seven runs per prompt per day. One run a day is what we do too, per that post; its claim that one answer per prompt estimates a rate without bias is a claim about our own system, not about any vendor in the table. A vendor that states no cadence leaves a buyer unable to tell what its dashboard is a sample of.

What happens when Google shows no AI Overview, and when a fetch fails?

One of nineteen states a rule that names AI Overviews and says how the prompt counts, and none states how a failed fetch counts. The one is Otterly, whose KPI definitions, dated 4 September 2026, say: "Special case: Google AIO When AIO are not triggered, they do not count towards that formula." A prompt without an overview leaves Otterly's denominator. Conductor's docs define the case as a status: "No AI response generated" means "Conductor successfully submits a tracked prompt to an AI search engine, but no AI response is returned. This is most common for Google AI Overviews, where AI responses are generated only for 50–70% of prompts", without saying how such a prompt enters coverage. Profound's metrics documentation states a general rule, "Runs in which no brand was mentioned are excluded from both the numerator and the denominator", without naming AI Overviews; if Profound records a prompt with no overview as a run, that run falls out of its visibility score along with any other answer that names nobody, and whether it does is not on the page.

Tool, pages read 24 Sep 2026Prompt with no AI OverviewFailed fetchDated since 13 Sep about Google's blockEngine count on its own pages
ProfoundGeneral rule, if such a prompt is recorded as a run: runs naming no brand are excluded from numerator and denominator (docs); AI Overviews not namedNot statedNone. Status page: Google AI Mode component degraded on every day 2–24 Sep, update of 18 Sep on "the variability affecting Google AI Mode citation data"; the Google AI Overviews component shows no degraded day in the same periodDisagrees: "Up to 9" and nine named (pricing) vs eight components (status page); features page names nine, Grok in and Exa Search out
Peec AINot statedNot statedNone; changelog's newest entry 3 Aug 2026Disagrees on one page: the pricing page's Enterprise card says "Up to 13 LLM models tracked", while the table beneath names fourteen models for Enterprise and gives its active models as unlimited; its six self-serve models include Naver AI and not Perplexity, where the ai-instructions page's six default models include Perplexity
OtterlyRule stated: "When AIO are not triggered, they do not count towards that formula" (help, 4 Sep 2026)Not statedNone; help changelog has a 16 Sep entry on ChatGPT ads reporting and a 24 Sep entry on new countriesDisagrees: "six AI platforms" (home FAQ) and "six major AI search engines" (help, 7 Jul 2026) vs "seven AI engines" (features page); a help article of 9 Sep 2026 names seven
ScrunchNot statedNot statedNone9 on FAQ pages; pricing shows 4 on Starter and 9 on Enterprise; consistent
Athena HQNot statedClosest: API denominators count "successfully analyzed responses"; a day with zero responses is dropped from a trend chart (docs)None; status page answered 40311 (home, plans); consistent
RankscaleNot statedNot statedNone; changelog's newest entry 4 Sep 2026Disagrees: "17+ AI engines" on three pages vs 16 selectable on the pricing calculator (six named "+ 10 more engines", ten named)
EvertuneNot statedNot statedNone. Post of 23 Sep 2026 on AI Mode citation counts falling 11 Aug–3 Sep; not about collection11 (home), "11+" (FAQ); consistent
GoodieNot statedNot statedNone; help subdomain does not resolveDisagrees on one page: pricing says "Up to 13 engines" and "all 12 engines"
BluefishNot statedNot statedNoneNo engine list on the platform page
AmICitedNot statedNot statedNoneDisagrees: "all 8 engines" (features, pricing) vs 11 in the home-page FAQ and 12 in the home-page coverage table
SemrushNot statedNot statedNone; blog index titles of 21–23 Sep are on other subjectsNo count; lists differ across pages: four (kb/1607, kb/1596, pricing/ai), five and six (kb/997), six (solutions FAQ)
Ahrefs Brand RadarNot statedClosest: an undated note that it is "temporarily unable to gather new data" from GrokNone; blog of 16 Sep is a click-through-rate study7 (help centre); consistent. Prompt-database size differs: 451M+, 405M+, 350M+ on two pages
HubSpotNot statedClosest: the Grader mentions "retry logic"None; the Sensor covers ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity3; consistent
WritesonicNot statedNot statedNone; status page served an error10 and "10+"; consistent
SurferNot statedNot statedNone; post updated 17 Sep compares scraped and API answers5; consistent
SE Ranking / SE VisibleNot statedNot statedNone; help centre answered 4035 named; consistent
SimilarwebNot statedNot statedNone; support centre answered 403No count; one list of 4 for brand visibility, 3 more for traffic (AEO page)
ConductorNamed as a status, "No AI response generated … most common for Google AI Overviews"; how it counts not stated (docs FAQ)Named as a status, "No AI response collected"; how it counts not stated (docs FAQ)NoneNo count; docs list nine engines, product pages list three to five
BrightEdgeNot statedNot statedNone; insight dated 7 Sep on Google's August redirect layerNo count; three pages give three different lists
HeardOf, per [our post on which engines we check](/blog/which-ai-engines-we-check), as updated 23 Sep 2026Counts as an answer in which nobody was namedA failed call, retried; enough failures drop the engine's row from the headlineYes, 23 Sep 2026, in that post4; consistent
Questions (d) to (g), same read of 24 September 2026. "None" in the block column means no statement dated on or after 13 September 2026 whose subject is Google blocking or changing what tracking tools collect, on any page we read; a dated statement on another Google subject is named beside it. "Disagrees" means a number on one page contradicted by another number, or by a named list of a different length, for the same product; a vendor with no number and differing lists is described, not counted. The HeardOf row is from our own post and cannot be checked by a reader.

The failed-fetch column carries no rule because no vendor's page we read states one: whether a fetch that fails is dropped, retried, counted as an answer with nobody in it, or left as a gap, and each of those moves the rate a customer sees. Conductor's docs define "No AI response collected: Conductor could not successfully collect a response from the AI search engine for the tracked prompt" as a status distinct from an empty answer, with no sentence on how either enters coverage. Athena's API reference defines its denominators as "successfully analyzed responses", Ahrefs notes it is "temporarily unable to gather new data" from Grok, HubSpot's Grader page mentions "retry logic"; none is a rule for the count. Ours is in the post linked above, as updated 23 September 2026: a failed call is retried, a prompt whose retries all fail is a failure for that engine and not an empty answer, and enough failures take the engine out of the headline.

Has any vendor said anything about Google's scraper block since 13 September?

Not on any page we read, the help centres, status pages and changelogs listed in the research file included. From around 13 September 2026 Google may have become more successful at blocking scrapers and tracking tools, and vendors that collect Google results pages reported problems; the reporting is linked in our post on which engines we check, which said that as of 19 September 2026 it had seen no statement from any of the fifteen vendors that list AI Overviews on what the block did to their collection. Five days later there is nothing dated on any page we read.

Two vendors did publish something dated after 13 September about a Google AI surface, and both concern citation counts, not collection. Profound's status page, read on 24 September, marks its Google AI Mode component "Google AI Mode citations are affected", with a degraded entry on every day from 2 September, when the incident opened, to 24 September, the day we read it, and an update on 18 September: "We've made progress in understanding the variability affecting Google AI Mode citation data and are validating an updated approach to improve data stability." Its Google AI Overviews component shows no degraded day in the same period. Evertune's post of 23 September says it "tracked roughly 180,000 AI Mode responses between August 11 and September 3"; Google blamed the zero-citation answers on "a bug in the new Gemini 3.8 Flash model", Evertune says the decline began three weeks earlier and that "its timing matches the /goto rollout", the redirect links Google began wrapping around results in late August, and it reports that AI Overviews' sources per response "declined around 15%" over the same period. Neither mentions scraping or blocking, and we are not claiming either is about the block; a reader who wants to know what happened to AI Overviews data in mid-September will find nothing dated on any page we read.

Do the vendors' own pages agree on how many engines they check?

Six of nineteen give a number on one page that another page, or the same page, contradicts, with a different number or with a named list of a different length; three more give no number and a different list on each page; ten are consistent or give a single list.

The six: Otterly says "six AI platforms" in its home-page FAQ and "six major AI search engines" in a help article dated 7 July 2026, and "seven AI engines" on its features page, while a help article dated 9 September names seven. Goodie's pricing page says "Up to 13 engines" in one tier and "all 12 engines" in the FAQ below it. Rankscale says "17+ AI engines" on three pages, while its pricing calculator lists six engines and "+ 10 more engines", and the ten it names make sixteen. AmICited says "all 8 engines" on its rank-tracker and pricing pages, while its home page lists eleven in its FAQ and twelve in its coverage table, seven daily and five weekly. Peec's pricing page says "Up to 13 LLM models tracked" on its Enterprise card and names fourteen models in the Enterprise column of the table beneath it and gives its active models as unlimited, as served on 24 September 2026; the six self-serve models in that table include Naver AI and not Perplexity, where its ai-instructions page's six default models include Perplexity, a difference of membership the rule does not count. The three without a number are Semrush, whose knowledge base names four platforms behind its prompt database in two articles, five and then six in a third, and whose solutions FAQ names six; Conductor, whose docs list nine engines while its product pages list three to five; and BrightEdge, with a different list on each of three pages. Profound's pricing page says "Up to 9 Answer Engines tracked" and names nine, while its status page carries a component for eight, without Microsoft Copilot; its features page names nine with Grok and without Exa Search, a difference of membership the rule does not count.

None of this is a finding about what the tools do; two pages written at different times can both be honest and still disagree. It is a finding about what a buyer can check: on six sites, the count is a question the site answers two ways.

Correction, 24 September 2026. This post went out counting Peec as consistent, from the lists on its ai-instructions page; its pricing page, read the same day, says up to thirteen on the Enterprise card, while the table beneath names fourteen for Enterprise and gives its active models as unlimited, so Peec is the fifth and the consistent count is eleven, not twelve. Later the same day, Profound's status page, which lists a component for eight engines against the pricing page's nine, made it the sixth, and the consistent count ten; the same read moved the Google AI Mode entry from 1–23 to 2–24 September, the dates the status page gives.

What counts as a stated methodology, and how was this read?

A statement counts when it is on the vendor's own domain and answers the question for the product as sold, and the read was one pass on 24 September 2026, between 13:54 and 15:06 UTC, with curl and a browser user-agent, no JavaScript executed: 1,690 requests to the nineteen vendors' domains and four to our own posts, each listed with its URL, time and HTTP status in the research file. The domain rule admits a product page, docs, a help centre, a knowledge base, an API reference, a status page, a changelog or a methodology page, and a blog post only when its subject is the product's own method, which is why Ahrefs' methodology post is in and Surfer's study of scraped-versus-API answers, updated 17 September, is not. Testimonials, figures inside product mock-ups, third-party reviews, what a vendor says about a competitor, and a sentence that answers a different question do not count. A model version means a version string, so "the latest model" and "Sonnet" do not. A rule for a missing overview or a failed fetch means a sentence about how it enters the figures, so a study of how often overviews appear does not, and a status label that names the case without the count is recorded as that. A dated statement about the block means one dated on or after 13 September 2026 whose subject is Google blocking or changing what tracking tools can collect. An engine-count disagreement means a number on one page contradicted by another number, or by a named list of a different length, for the same product.

The read covered the docs, help-centre, knowledge-base and changelog pages listed in the research file, reached from each vendor's llms.txt, docs index or help index, plus every sitemap we could read, filtered for pages dated on or after 13 September. Sites that answered with a bot challenge were left there — SE Ranking's help centre, Similarweb's support centre and Athena's status page answered 403; Goodie's help subdomain and Rankscale's docs subdomain do not resolve; the HubSpot knowledge-base addresses we tried answered 404 and its search page served no article links; 45 of Writesonic's docs pages answered 429 on three attempts — which is why every negative in the tables is scoped to the pages read. At least four vendors carry text addressed to AI readers — Peec's ai-instructions page, AmICited's file for language models, Otterly's footer link inviting AI to learn about it, and the banner on every Writesonic docs page — and all were read as data.

Otterly's and Semrush's cells were re-read on 24 September 2026 rather than copied from HeardOf vs Otterly and HeardOf vs Semrush; the wording matched, and so did the two Semrush database figures the Semrush post recorded: 317 million in its knowledge base and 239 million on its Semrush One page, both there on 24 September.

Everything this post says about our own system comes from our own post on which engines we check, as updated 23 September 2026, and carries that provenance in the sentence that says it; you cannot check it. Everything else carries a vendor's page and the day it was read, and the research file carries the time.

Common questions

Do AI visibility tools use the ChatGPT API or scrape the interface?

Of the nineteen read on 24 September 2026, eight say they collect through the chat interface (Profound, Peec, Otterly, Semrush, Ahrefs, Writesonic, Surfer, SE Ranking — three of them with an API exception for one engine or a paid tier), four say they use both an API and the interface (Scrunch, Rankscale, Evertune, Athena), one says an API (Conductor), and six say neither on the pages we read (Goodie, Bluefish, AmICited, HubSpot, Similarweb, BrightEdge). Each answer's page is in the table.

Which AI visibility tools name the model version they query?

Six of nineteen, as read on 24 September 2026: Peec names Gemini 3 Flash and Qwen 3.7 in its changelog and Claude Sonnet 4 and GPT-5 Search for its paid API models; Rankscale names GPT-5, Gemini 3.0F, Gemini 3.1P and Mistral Large on its pricing page; Evertune's help centre lists ChatGPT-5.4-mini, Gemini 2.5, Claude Sonnet 4.6, Llama 4 and DeepSeek v3.2; Goodie's model pages name GPT-5, GPT-4o, Claude 3.5 Sonnet, Gemini 2.0 and others; Ahrefs names Claude Sonnet 4.6 for Claude and "the default model" for the rest; HubSpot's Grader names GPT-5.4 mini. Semrush says "the latest model of ChatGPT in search mode" and Surfer says it does not pick a model, so neither is counted.

What do AI visibility tools do when Google shows no AI Overview for a prompt?

One of nineteen states a rule that names AI Overviews and says how the prompt counts: Otterly's KPI definitions, dated 4 September 2026 and read 24 September, say that when an overview is not triggered the prompt does not count towards Brand Coverage. Conductor's docs define a status for it, "No AI response generated", and say it is "most common for Google AI Overviews", without saying how it enters coverage. Profound's metrics documentation states a general rule — runs in which no brand was mentioned are excluded from the numerator and the denominator — without naming AI Overviews. The other sixteen say nothing on the pages we read. HeardOf counts such a prompt as an answer in which nobody was named, per our post on which engines we check, as updated 23 September 2026.

Did any AI visibility vendor say what Google's September block did to its data?

Not on any page we read on 24 September 2026, the help centres, status pages and changelogs listed in the research file included. Two vendors published something dated after 13 September about a Google AI surface, and both concern citation counts rather than collection: Profound's status page marks its Google AI Mode component as degraded on every day from 2 to 24 September, with an update on 18 September about "the variability affecting Google AI Mode citation data", and Evertune's post of 23 September reports AI Mode citation counts falling between 11 August and 3 September; Google blamed the zero-citation answers of early September on a bug in the new Gemini 3.8 Flash model, and Evertune says the larger decline began three weeks earlier. Neither mentions scraping or blocking.

How often do AI visibility tools run each prompt?

As read on 24 September 2026: two say once a day in so many words (Profound, Peec); three use wording or an example that amounts to one run per prompt per engine per day (Otterly, AmICited, SE Visible); five give a schedule — Scrunch's default (daily for fourteen days, then every 72 hours, refreshable on demand), and customer-chosen schedules at Rankscale, Ahrefs, Athena and Conductor; Evertune says 100 times per prompt per model without saying how often; Surfer says multiple times a day without a number; five say daily with no count (Goodie, Semrush, HubSpot, Writesonic, Similarweb); and two say nothing on the pages we read (Bluefish, BrightEdge).

These are our numbers. Yours are one audit away.

Nineteen sets of pages, one read each, seven questions, and every answer with the page it came from. If the number you want is not what a tool says about itself but whether the engines name you and your competitors, that is what HeardOf measures.

Can you see the answer, and who got named instead? What nineteen AI visibility tools' pages say